16 Things I’ve Learned From Moving Around

16 Things I've Learned From Moving Around

When my aunt asked me to buy something from the shop around the corner when I was around 12, I was too proud to tell her I couldn’t do it. But when I had to cross the street to actually go, I was terrified. That’s how I was as a child. My mom was (still is) a very protective woman. She would not let me go anywhere on my own. As a result, I was both scared and eager to break free. And boy did I do that!

When it was actually time to choose a university I chose to move to İstanbul and study a double degree program that would let me live in Liverpool for a year. Ofcourse I also jumped on the chance to do an Erasmus exchange on my third year in Amsterdam. So I had my share of moving around and these are the things I’ve learned so far.

  • All the prejudices you had about other nations are probably wrong.
  • You are going to get really annoyed when you hear about their prejudices about your country.
  • But you should not feel obliged to represent your country. That is a heavy weight to carry on your shoulders.
  • It is incredibly exciting to move to a place where you don’t know anyone or anything. Like heart-attack exciting.
  • It is difficult but extremely freeing to be able to take care of yourself. Except when you are sick. Not fun.
  • Just because you moved away from your hometown doesn’t mean the first city you move into will be a perfect match for you.
  • You will meet a lot of people that you won’t keep in touch with. Sometimes it will hurt but mostly it will feel natural.
  • You will also lose contact with many people from your hometown and that will feel natural too.
  • Sometimes you will be very lonely and that is going to be a great opportunity to get to know yourself.
  • If you move more than once, it is highly possible that you will be in constant state of missing people that are not in the same place as you are.
  • Being out of your hometown is not equal to being outside your comfort zone. There are beds and Netflix almost everywhere.
  • You might have been bored of your hometown before but you are probably going to look forward to visiting it.
  • When you visit you are going to start seeing people and places in a new light.
  • People are probably going to see you in a new light too.
  • You are going to hate visas. SERIOUSLY.
  • At the end, you will experience great things.

240630_10151121277589425_1409390247_oPhoto0855

IMG-20140111-WA0001

What did you learn from traveling or moving?

8 thoughts on “16 Things I’ve Learned From Moving Around

  1. I’m from Kentucky, so obviously a lot of people have stereotypes about us – even me, as my parents aren’t KY natives. I enjoy going to other parts of the country, but it always makes me appreciate KY more and give me a pride of where I’m from. 🙂

    Like

    1. That’s so great. I try not to get bothered by stereotypes either. Because they usually come from lack of knowledge. But I’m glad you show people your Kentucky pride! 🙂

      Like

  2. A lovely post, I admire your courage for living in another country – I’ve only moved counties across the UK. I find your points so true and can relate to life in general.

    Like

Leave a Reply

