Weekend Reads

Weekendreads

I wasn’t a regular blog reader before starting this blog. Maybe a little Gala Darling here, some Youtubers there. But my Old Reader was full of art magazine subsbricptions that didn’t include a lot of reading material. Around two weeks ago, when I was opening up this blog, I knew it was vital for me to get familiar with the blogging community. I’m not sure I’m there yet. But in the process I had the chance to discover many inspiring blogs and I wanted to share them.

When I was putting together all the material I collected over the week, I realized that most of them had the same theme. Career. As you know from my previous posts, I’m (only slightly) consumed with the question of what I’m going to be doing after graduating, so it was interesting to see how it even shifted the focus on what I’m reading.

  • I have been following The Coveteur since they started up. I find it really interesting to see how other people (espescially women that I admire) live on a daily basis. Last week they interviewed Tavi Gevinson who started blogging in highschool and now is the founder and editor-in-chief of Rookie magazine. She is very insprational and it is definitely worth checking out.
  • Another read from The Coveteur this week is from their new series called Deskside where they interview succesful women about how they got where they are. I found it especially helpful because achieving some of the jobs I would enjoy are not as straightforward as usual. My favourite so far is Stella Bugbee.
  • Chapter Friday has quickly became one of my favourite blogs and I’m quite smitten by its curator Yara. They also have a series about successful women called The Desk Of… where they photograpgh the desks of woman from different creative industries with a little side interview. I adored the desk of graphic designer Toula.
  • The last reading could only be from another great series called Making Uncovered about discovering hidden makers. It has just started but I really enjoyed the first one about hairdresser and haindmade hair products maker Jayne Rutland.
  • I have always been a huge Audrey Hepburn fan. So couldn’t finish it off without adding this lovely BAFTA acceptance speech from her.
Leave a Reply

